Why do you want to be a writer?

By: jackiereedy

Aug 18 2009

Category: Uncategorized

1 Comment

Today my journalism professor asked this question.  And unlike my peers who answered her in long, well-thoughtout paragraphs, I handed in a mere three sentences:

I want to be a writer so that I can give people a voice. I want to tell real life stories and help those who cannot necessarily advocate for themselves. I want to make an impact on the world, and I know I can best do that through writing.

The funny thing is that I would have written the same thing had she asked, “Why do you want to be a lawyer?”:

I want to be a lawyer so that I can give people a voice. I want to tell real life stories and help those who cannot necessarily advocate for themselves. I want to make an impact on the world, and I know I can best do that through practicing law.

Or “Why do you want to be a photojournalist?”:

I want to be a photojournalist so that I can give people a voice. I want to tell real life stories and help those who cannot necessarily advocate for themselves. I want to make an impact on the world, and I know I can best do that through taking pictures.

Hmmmmmmm…

One comment on “Why do you want to be a writer?”

  1. Well at least your main goals in whatever you go on to do are consistent! That’s always a good sign. : )


Leave a Reply

